h1

Oral Drilling for Intermedio 2 y Avanzado 2

October 15, 2012

The following are language issues for Upper Intermediate and Advanced students. However, Intermedio 2 is not learning at the B1 level, but at a B2 (Upper Intermediate) level, and Avanzado 2, instead of having a textbook at the B2 level, it is a true Advanced level (C1). Anyway, this might come in handy for both!

Find similar sentences in your audio and audiovisuals, or examples you might want to use, and which are easy to remember!

Indirect Questions: wh- + Subject + Verb

I don’t know where I put my keys
I can’t remember what her phone number is!
I don’t know what we have to do
I can’t remember how many people are coming
I don’t know when the exam is
She doesn’t know which you chose
He doesn’t remember how much that was
They can’t remember where she lives
She doesn’t remember how many books we need
I don’t remember how you use this
We can’t remember what she told us to do
I’m not sure who my teacher is
She can’t remember where she parked the car
We don’t know when they are coming
He is working out how long it takes us to get to Seville by car
I don’t know what this means
I don’t know who it is
I can’t remember who he is
She doesn’t remember how much it cost her
He can’t remember how many people are coming to the party
I can’t imagine why I did that!
I can’t explain why I did that!

With to-infinitives

I don’t know where to go now
I can’t remember how to do this
I don’t know what to do
He can’t remember how many (drinks) to get
I don’t know how to pronounce this
We’re working out how to do this exercise!
She isn’t sure who to call
We’ve forgotten where to put it
I can’t remember how to use this machine!
He can’t remember how to get to the airport
I’m not sure how much/long it takes (cuánto lleva)

More indirect questions at the Talking People Podcast: http://www.talkingpeople.net/tppodcast/2009/03/25/useful-language-indirect-questions-oral-drill-01/

Comparative Structures – Upper Intermediate/Advanced 

The more the better
The more the merrier

The more you listen to English the better you’ll speak / you speak
The more you read aloud the more fluently you speak!
The more you practice speaking at home, the more natural it’ll be for you to speak in class! 😛
The more you speak English on your own, the less shy you’ll be in class / the more spontaneously you’ll participate in class
The harder you work, the better results you’ll get
The friendlier the atmosphere at work, the happier people are/will be!
The more bored you are in class, the more difficult it’ll be to enjoy the subject and learn!
The kinder people are, the more intelligent (I think they are)!
The older we grow the wiser we become
The more I watch the news the less I know about the world
The higher you climb the colder it gets
The more you earn the less you save
How do you like your coffee? The stronger the better
The faster
you drive the higher risk there is of a traffic accident
The colder and rainier it gets, the more I feel like reading in bed!
The sunnier it is when it is fresh, the happier I feel
The sooner we start, the sooner we finish!

Watch/Listen to this wonderful teacher: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ebtw0n-QBZY

a/an + noun + of + possessive pronoun

A/This/That friend of mine lives here
A cousin of mine used to live here
I don’t know that friend of yours whose name is Peter
I like a friend of his (of Darren’s)
He likes a cousin of hers (of Mary’s)
A friend of ours has a house where we can stay!
I like a friends of yours. Her/His name’s Chris.
This belongs to a friends of theirs (Martha and Tim’s)

Whose is this?
It’s mine! It’s Michelle’s!

For Avanzado 2: Double genitives:

A cousin of Peter’s told us that…
A friend of Jane’s told us that…

3 comments

  1. Thank You very much for helping us to learn more english


  2. Oh, thanks! I appreciate! 🙂
    After posting this last night, I edited so as to add more sentences. And then it struck me I could record them! So I’ll be recording three new episodes with this material on the Talking People Podcast, and here’s the first!: http://www.talkingpeople.net/tppodcast/2012/10/16/useful-language-indirect-questions-2/


  3. […] in language (what they mean). Then, look for an example you can easily remember, and do some Oral Drilling with that […]



Leave a comment