h1

Why did the chicken cross the road?

May 31, 2013

chickenI’ve been looking for the sheet I wrote answering this question by women artists, thinkers and activists. At that time, the 90s, it was not that funny because people did not know these women… Still today, most people don’t know those women writers.. Sigh! Anyway… I haven’t found it in my computer, so I suppose I should start looking through my papers! But they’re all scattered in various houses where I lived, so I suppose that’ll be something I won’t manage to do!

Oh, poor women! It’s so hard to get you into most people’s minds! But that doesn’t mean they did not exist, in spite of all the injustice and obliteration…

I do remember one I wrote. It’s what GERTRUDE STEIN would say: “A chicken crossing the road is handsome and convincing.” 😀 Hey, found one on the Net: VIRGINIA WOOLF, “She wanted a room of her own.” 😀 She did, she did!!!

In the comments below I’m posting some answers I’ve found on the Net – by valuable men AND women. You can also post some if you like. Hope you enjoy them!

3 comments

  1. (The indented ones come from this site: http://www.susanohanian.org/show_nclb_news.php?id=867)

    KINDERGARTEN TEACHER (possibly a woman?)
    To get to the other side.

    ERNEST HEMINGWAY
    To die. In the rain. Alone.

    MARTIN LUTHER KING, JR.
    I envision a world where all chickens will be free to cross roads without having their motives called into question.

    JOHN LENNON
    Imagine all the chickens crossing roads in peace.

    The answer, my friend, is blowin’ in the wind.–Bob Dylan

    MACHIAVELLI
    The point is that the chicken crossed the road. Who cares why? The end of crossing the road justifies whatever motive there was.

    ARISTOTLE
    It is the nature of chickens to cross the road.

    PLATO
    For the greater good.

    It wanted to get out of the Cave.–Plato

    HIPPOCRATES
    Because of an excess of phlegm in its pancreas.

    DARWIN
    Chickens, over great periods of time, have been naturally selected in such a way that they are now genetically disposed to cross roads.

    KARL MARX
    It was an historical inevitability.

    SIGMUND FREUD
    The fact that you are at all concerned that the chicken crossed the road reveals your underlying sexual insecurity.

    BILL GATES
    I have just released eChicken 2003, which will not only cross roads, but will lay eggs, file your important documents, and balance your checkbook and Internet Explorer is an inextricable part of eChicken.

    ALBERT EINSTEIN
    Did the chicken really cross the road or did the road move beneath the chicken?

    GERTRUDE STEIN
    A chicken is a chicken is a chicken.

    So much depends

    upon a chicken

    seeing a road

    and a path between the

    white lines.–William Carlos Williams (listen to his poem This is just to say: http://talkingpeople.net/tp/literature/wcwilliams/williamcarloswilliams.html )


  2. From: http://www.extremelysmart.com/humor/chickenroad.php

    Fox Mulder: “You saw it cross the road with your own eyes. How many more chickens have to cross before you believe it?”

    Dana Scully: “I know the chicken crossed the road, but it just doesn’t make sense — why would the chicken risk crossing the traffic?”

    Here come more women / wimmin you might know of…

    Mary Shelley (author of Frankenstein and daughter of Mary Wollstonecraft): “To build a perfect chicken from the discarded entrails of convict chickens.”

    Mary Wollstonecraft: “Poultry, including every description, wish to be loved and respected by something; and the common herd will always take the nearest road to the completion of their wishes.”

    Virginia Woolf: “I would venture to guess that the anonymous Fowl who crossed the road was a hen and not a rooster.”

    Jane Austen: “It is a truth universally acknowledged that a single chicken, being possessed of a good fortune and presented with a good road, must be desirous of crossing.”

    Sojourner Truth: “And ar’n’t I a chicken? Look at me! Look at my wing! [And here she bared her right wing to the shoulder, showing her tremendous muscular power] I have clucked, and pecked, and gathered into barns, and no rooster could head me! And ar’n’t I a chicken? I could work as much and eat as much as a cock — when I could get it — and bear de bark of the dog as well! And ar’n’t’ I a chicken? I have borne thirteen eggs a day, and seen ’em mos’ all sold off the grocer, and when I cried out with my mother’s grief, none but Jesus heard me! And ar’n’t I a chicken?”

    Grandma: “In my day, we didn’t ask why the chicken crossed the road. Someone told us that the chicken crossed the road, and that was good enough for us.”

    Susan Sontag: “A chicken crossing the road is not relevant. What is relevant is the critique of the crossing.”

    Louisa May Alcott: “Because Marmee thought the chickens across the road could use a little more feed in the cold winter, during the war.”

    Maya Angelou: “There is a true yearning to respond to / The crossing of the road. / So say the Asian, the Hispanic, the Jew, / The African, the Native American, the Sioux, / The Catholic, the Muslim, the French, the Greek, / The Irish, the Rabbi, the Priest, the Sheik, / The Gay, the Straight, the Preacher, / The privileged, the homeless, the Chicken. / They hear. They all hear / The road longing to be crossed.”

    H.P. Lovecraft: “To escape the crawling horror lurking on this side of the road, a nameless and foetid monstrosity that cannot be conceived save in the dreams of madness.”


  3. OK, here I go…

    Mary Wollstonecraft: Because it is time to effect a revolution in female chicken roles–time to restore to them their usurped dignity–and allow them as a part of the species, enjoy chicken rights, for by renouncing our gendered idea of chickens we shall reform the world. (Vindication of Female Chicken Rights, 1792)

    Gertrude Stein: A chicken crossing the road is handsome and convincing. (Tender Chicken Buttons, 1912)



Leave a Reply

