h1

On the Day of the Dead… Conmemorando la vida de las personas que perdimos

October 31, 2012

As a non-believer I do devote some time to thinking of the people I loved who are dead, and also of the people who die every single day because of the violent world this species has created. This helps me keep focused on important things and it helps me avoid getting lost in unimportant things in life! 🙂

This picture is a Guatemalan burial ground. Indigenous burial grounds are really cheerful, and people at wakes tell jokes and anecdotes. It’s how believers celebrate the person’s spirit is in paradise. That’s what religion should be doing for people, and not what it’s been doing for centuries…

I have also found this amazing Indian prayer, whose excellent advice to allow us to deal with the fact of losing a person we have loved I share. I think I’ll record it for the Talking People Podcast. Till then, here it is…

Indian Prayer

When I am dead
Cry for me a little
Think of me sometimes
But not too much

Think of me now and again
As I was in life
At some moments it’s pleasant to recall
But not for long

Leave me in peace
And I shall leave you in peace
And while you live
Let your thoughts be with the living

Leave a Reply

